Pecan Puffs – Grandmother’s recipe for enlightened taste buds!

My Nana used to make these over 40 years ago and I admit I make them every year for the family.

Her old cookbook describes them as RICH and DEVASTATING and it is true. They are also very easy to make. I challenge you to meditate on the flavour of these! Also…. when you are rolling out the cookies…. only roll one at a time….. there…. another Christmas meditation for you….hohoho!
Since I am immersed in the baking of cookies and wrapping presents, thought I’d share this recipe. I love the simplicity of the recipe and I usually triple the recipe and they turn out just fine.

Here is my daughter who loves these cookies. Her big brother took this picture. She had just had a make=-up lesson from the big girls at dance class.

an enjoyer of Christmas cookies!

Makes about 32 1 1/2 inch cookies.

Beat until soft:
1/2cup butter
Add and blend until creamy:
2 tablespoons white sugar
Add:
1 teaspoon vanilla
Measure, then grind in a nut grinder or I use a cuisinart:
1 cup pecans
Sift before measuring:
1 cup unbleached white flour

Stir the pecans and the flour into the butter mixture. Roll the dough into small balls. I use a heaping teaspoon for size. Place them on a greased baking sheet. Bake them in a slow over 300degrees for about 45 minutes. Roll the puffs while hot in :

totally decadent Confectioner’s sugar (icing sugar)

Leave a Reply

