The Truth Soup

The following is a story by Antony DeMello in his book, “The Song of the Bird”.

I could hardly believe my eyes when I saw the name of the shop: THE TRUTH SHOP.

The salesman was very polite. What type of truth did I wish to purchase, partial or whole? The whole truth, of course. No deceptions for me, no defenses, no rationalizations. I wanted my truth plain and unadulterated. She waved me on to another side of the store.

The salesman there pointed to the price tab. ” The price is very high, sir, “he said. “What is it?” I asked, determined to get the whole truth, no matter what it cost. “Your security, sir,” he answered.

I came away with a heavy heart. I still need the safety of my unquestioned beliefs.

Isn’t that a fantastic story!! We all want enlightenment but do we REALLY want enlightenment and WHO is it that WANTS IT? There is that question again!

Fall leaves in Gormley

How about the autumn leaves? They are supposedly dying, but look how beautiful they are and then they float effortlessly to the ground in all their glory! Can we surrender like the leaves in autumn?

I don’t know…. do you think life is just one continuous creation? Maybe us humans are just the creations and playthings of the Source of it all and we aren’t the bosses! Humans seem to think we run the show!

Talk about creativity, check out these red maple leaves!!!!!

look at the colour!!!!

I think that is hilarious!!!!! what a hoot! Man can’t stop an earthquake or a volcano errupting. Man doesn’t make the trees grow, the flowers blossom forth, the leaves change colour! *or maybe with all our global warming we are affecting the earth… but not in a way our human minds would call positive. Perhaps man isn’t so all knowing and blah blah blah….. wasn’t the earth better off before humans started to destroy it with their beliefs that they could make something better?

okay I’ll stop, i can feel the rambling coming on…. got to go get my child at the bus!!!!! you fill in the rest……

Leave a Reply

